DE | EN | FRSucheNavigation öffnen
DE | EN | FRSucheNavigation öffnen
ZUSE - GemeinschaftJRF - Gemeinschaft
Startseite / INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION / Africa

AFRICA

Africa is gaining increasingly importance worldwide. The continent, rich in nature, culture, landscape and mineral resources, is still underestimated. Valuable political developments are taking place, increasing the chances for stronger cooperation projects in the water, waste and energy area. Since its foundation, the FiW has a tradition of cooperation with Tunisia, which has been extended to Morocco and Algeria as years go by. In this respect, there is intensive cooperation with the KfW Entwicklungsbank and GIZ as well as with ONAS in Tunisia in the field of training and further education, but also in advisory services on sewage and sludge treatment and recycling.

In 2019, the German BMBF project "awaregio" was launched: modular wastewater treatment processes for the reuse of water, nutrients and energy as an opportunity for small and medium-sized enterprises in regional structural change". Through the project "WaterReTUNe - Desalination, nutrient recovery and diversified recycling techniques NBS ("nature based solutions") - treated wastewater" it will be possible to install selected process steps in the north of Tunis and do research on further adaptation steps. The project is coordinated by the FiW and gives the possibility for cooperation between research institutes and companies from Tunisia and Germany.

The FiW has carried out training measures for many African countries, especially with an increasing focus on English-speaking countries. The projects mainly took place in Germany.  After initial projects, e.g. for energy optimisation of sewage treatment plants in South Africa and for the construction of drinking water plants in Congo and Tanzania, the FiW initially won a start-up funding for new projects and was able to place itself in the most recent BMBF competition for multi-annual funding projects.

The FiW has a broad range of technical expertise that covers almost the entire water cycle. The focus on wastewater and sewage sludge treatment supposed to maintained and developed, and further expertise in water reuse, water management and monitoring, climate change adaptation, flood risk management and waste management should be added. Additionally, there is an increasing demand for training courses for waste management professionals. In 2015 three groups of experts from Ghana visited Germany for the first time to be trained in waste treatment and recycling. In 2019 a delegation of technical and political decision-makers from municipalities also came to Germany to receive training in inter-municipal cooperation in waste management for medium-sized municipalities.

In addition to training and consulting, research projects are also carried out with university and practice partners in Africa. The focus is on applied research that takes into account all local conditions, framework conditions and problems in order to develop suitable solutions for target countries. Knowledge transfer and German know-how play an important role, especially the joint development of solutions with local partners. The integration of local experts and technicians and the creation of acceptance, also among the population, are essential components that contribute to sustainable cooperation and implementation of the project results.

CONTACT

Dipl.-Ing. Manuel Krauß
+49 (0) 241 80 2 68 43 / E-Mail

References

GreenFactory SARTEX | Tunisia

GreenFactory SARTEX

Sustainable denim finishing using water recycling and renewable energies

more
HoWaMan | Iran

HoWaMan

Flood risk management in semi-arid and arid areas

more
I-WALAMAR | Morocco

I-WALAMAR

Future-oriented technologies and services for a sustainable land management

more
IGCS Summerschool

IGCS Summerschool

Workshops and excursion programme for the Indo-German Centre for Sustainability

more
InoCottonGROW | Pakistan

InoCottonGROW

From cotton field to hanger

more
INTEWAR | Cameroon

INTEWAR – sustainable use of water in Cameroon

Innovative technologies for the reduction of water-related diseases

more
Sewage sludge management | Tunisia

Sewage sludge management in Tunisia

Water management in Tunisia after the Arab Spring

more
RAIN | Ghana

RAIN – Climate adaptation in Ghana

Sustainable technologies and services for climate change adaptation in flood and drought-prone settlements in Ghana

more
Urban-NEXUS Concept | Jakarta

Integrated resource management in Southeast Asia

Urban-NEXUS concept for sustainable wastewater collection and treatment in Jakarta

more
WaterReTunE | Tunisia

WaterReTunE

Water Reuse in Tunisia

more

DE | EN | FRSucheNavigation öffnen
DE | EN | FRSucheNavigation öffnen
ZUSE - GemeinschaftZUSE - Gemeinschaft
Startseite / INTERNATIONALE ZUSAMMENARBEIT / Afrika

AFRIKA

Afrika gewinnt weltweit an Bedeutung. Der an Natur, Kultur, Landschaft und Bodenschätzen reiche Kontinent wird vielfach noch unterschätzt. Es wird eine wertvolle politische Entwicklung spürbar, wodurch die Chancen auf stärkere Kooperationsprojekte im Wasser-, Abfall- und Energiebereich steigen. Das FiW blickt seit seiner Gründung auf eine Tradition in der Zusammenarbeit mit Tunesien zurück, die seit vielen Jahren schon auf Marokko und Algerien ausgeweitert wurde. Insbesondere zu nennen ist die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit der KfW Entwicklungsbank und der GIZ sowie der ONAS in Tunesien im Bereich Aus- und Fortbildung, aber auch in der Beratung im Bereich der Abwasser- und Klärschlammbehandlung und -verwertung.

Im Jahr 2019 startete eine In-Wert-Setzung des deutschen BMBF-Vorhabens „awaregio – Modulare Abwasserreinigungsverfahren zur Wiederverwendung von Wasser, Nährstoffen und Energie als Chance für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen im regionalen Strukturwandel“. Mit dem Projekt „WaterReTUNe – Entsalzung, Nährstoffrückgewinnung und diversifizierte Verwertungstechniken NBS („nature based solutions) – behandelter Abwässer“ werden ausgewählte Verfahrensschritte nördlich von Tunis installiert und hinsichtlich weiterer Anpassungsschritte beforscht. Forschungsinstitute und Unternehmen aus Tunesien und Deutschland wirken in diesem vom FiW koordinierten Vorhaben gemeinsam.

Aus- und Fortbildungsmaßnahmen hat das FiW auch für viele weitere Länder Afrikas durchgeführt, wobei zunehmend auch englischsprachige Länder fokussiert wurden und die Projekte vorwiegend in Deutschland stattfanden. Nach ersten Projekten bspw. zur Energieoptimierung auf Kläranlagen in Südafrika und der Installation von Trinkwasseranlagen in Kongo und Tansania gewann das FiW zunächst Anbahnungsfinanzierungen für neue Vorhaben und konnte sich im neuerlichen BMBF-Wettbewerb bei mehrjährigen Förderprojekten platzieren.

Fachlich gesehen greift das FiW auf eine breite Expertise zurück, die annähernd den gesamten Wasserkreislauf abbildet. Der stabile Schwerpunkt der Abwasser- und Klärschlammbehandlung soll beibehalten und ausgebaut werden und um weitere Expertise in den Bereichen Wasserwiedernutzung, Gewässerbewirtschaftung und -monitoring, Klimaanpassung, Hochwasserrisikomanagement und Abfallwirtschaft ergänzt werden. Zunehmend werden Aus- und Fortbildungskurse für Abfallfachkräfte nachgefragt und durchgeführt. Den drei Expertengruppen aus Ghana zum Thema Abfallbehandlung und -verwertung, die in 2015 erstmalig in Deutschland waren, sollen weitere folgen. 2019 kam auch eine Delegation von fachlichen und politischen Entscheiderinnen und Entscheidern aus Kommunen, von der Bürgermeisterin bis zum Abteilungsleiter, um sich in der interkommunalen Zusammenarbeit in der Abfallwirtschaft für mittelgroße Kommunen weiterzubilden.

Neben der Aus- und Fortbildung und Beratung werden nun auch Forschungsprojekte mit Hochschul- und Praxispartnern in Afrika durchgeführt. Hier liegt der Fokus auf der anwendungsorientierten Forschung, die vor allem die örtlichen Begebenheiten, Rahmenbedingungen und Probleme berücksichtigt, um für die Zielländer angepasste Lösungen zu entwickeln. Der Wissenstransfer und das deutsche Knowhow spielen eine wichtige Rolle, aber vor allem auch die gemeinsame Erarbeitung von Lösungen mit den Partnern vor Ort. Die Integration lokaler Experten und Techniker sowie die Schaffung von Akzeptanz auch in der Bevölkerung sind wesentliche Bausteine, die zu einer nachhaltigen Kooperation und Umsetzung von Projektergebnissen beitragen.

Ansprechpartner

Janine Möller, B.Sc.
+49 (0) 241 80 2 68 38 / E-Mail

Referenzen

GreenFactory | Tunesien

GreenFactory | Tunesien

Nachhaltige Jeans-Veredelung mittels Wasserrecycling und Erneuerbaren Energien

mehr
HoWaMan | Iran

HoWaMan

Hochwasserrisikomanagement in semiariden und ariden Gebiebten

mehr
I-WALAMAR | Marokko

I-WALAMAR | Marokko

Zukunftsfähige Technologien und Dienstleistungen für eine nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung

mehr
IGCS Summerschool

IGCS Summerschool

Workshops und Exkursionsprogramm für das Indo-German Centre for Sustainability

mehr
InoCottonGROW | Pakistan

InoCottonGROW | Pakistan

Vom Baumwollfeld zum Bügel

mehr
INTEWAR | Kamerun

INTEWAR | Kamerun

Innovative Technologien zur Eindämmung wasserassoziierter Krankheiten

mehr
Klärschlamm-Management | Tunesien

Klärschlamm-Management | Tunesien

Wasserwirtschaft in Tunesien nach dem arabischen Frühling

mehr
RAIN | Ghana

RAIN | Ghana

Zukunftsfähige Technologien und Dienstleistungen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel in Hochwasser- und Dürregefährdeten Siedlungsräumen in Ghana

mehr
Urban-NEXUS Konzept | Jakarta

Urban-NEXUS Konzept | Jakarta

Urban-NEXUS Konzept für eine nachhaltige Abwassersammlung und -behandlung in Jakarta

mehr
WaterReTunE | Tunesien

WaterReTunE

Wasserwiederverwedung in Tunesien

mehr